Property Details

Improvements

The entire ‘home park’ of Chicora Wood is exceptional…in beauty, in architecture, in history. It is undoubtedly one of the finest preserved collections of rice plantation structures, with the provenance to match. When so few examples of historically significant architecture restored to this degree still stand, it is prudent to acknowledge the display of awe-inspiring stewardship by its past owners. 

CHICORA WOOD - Plantation HOUSE

Situated on a high bank overlooking the Pee Dee River amongst groves of ancient live oaks, the main house showcases timeless Lowcountry beauty. A testament to the wealth generated by rice during the antebellum period, the 10,000± square foot house was completed in 1838 and features ten bedrooms and eight-and-a-half bathrooms.  

The house favors a Caribbean style with its lifted main floor, gable roof, and deep porches. The front door opens into a wide, center-hall foyer with a grand staircase. A four-over-four layout, the strikingly large doors usher you here into the dining room, the drawing room, the library, and the kitchen, all with fireplaces. A more modern addition, the kitchen opens to a bright breakfast room with views to the magnificent moss-draped oaks and the ancillary buildings.

The second floor features four bedrooms and four bathrooms, all with fireplaces. Taking the spiral staircase up one more floor brings you to a home office, two bedrooms and one bathroom. The ground level houses the “winter” kitchen staged for the period and featuring the original fireplace, mantle, bread oven and root cellar. A large bedroom and bathroom is also on this floor. 

The flanking wing off the rear of the house is said to date back to the 1700’s and is part of an original house that was salvaged after the rest of the house burned. Another three bedrooms, two and a half bathrooms, a den, and an owner’s arrival entrance make up this part of the house. 

When the current owners had contracted out the restoration in the 1980s, the California residents chose to stay on-location those two-and-a-half years to ensure no part of the house was unnecessarily removed. Mr. Constance was adamant that “not one splinter comes off” without his knowledge. 

DEPENDENCIES 

Allston family records were used to carefully restore the eight existing dependencies to as close to original as possible. These include the summer kitchen, smokehouse, rice mill (with much of the original machinery) and chimney, shipping barn, gatekeeper’s cabin, carriage house, master slave’s quarters, and school house.

ANCILLARY BUILDINGS

There are additional outbuildings on the property, including a plantation office, several barns/equipment sheds, and a carpentry shop. There is a three-car garage and a caretaker’s house adjacent to the main house. The old school house is now repurposed as a three bedroom guest house. 

OTHER IMPROVEMENTS

The beautiful formal gardens, designed by the celebrated Charleston landscape architect Loutrel Briggs, are enchanting pockets of interest between the main house and the river. Other improvements include a dock and boat launch, tennis court with racquet shed, and a very good road system throughout. There are also 80 acres in former rice impoundments with well-maintained levees.

acreage (DEEDED & LEASED)

Deeded Acres: 999±

Total Acres: 999±

Taxes

Based upon recent years, the annual taxes are estimated at $17,799.69.