Nydrie’s 585 acres encompass a well-balanced combination of fields, pastures, and forest. The farm has two entrances and can be accessed via a driveway off of Esmont Road, which boasts impressive views over the farm; or an older, Rhododendron lined driveway off of Green Mountain Road.
The centerpiece of the farm is the historic main stable. Walking through the central section of the 122-year old barn and out into the interior courtyard it’s easy to feel the pull of history and picture the stable busy with racehorses, grooms, and trainers. Also within the barn complex are tack rooms, a workshop, and the stable offices. Although the barn is in need of renovation, the potential of the character-rich building remains fully intact and readily awaits a new owner and the next chapter in its storied history. Adjacent to the stable are two modest tenant cottages and an assortment of farm buildings and equipment barns.
The surrounding fields and pastures can be more or less broken into four blocks – 47 acres of former pastures and paddocks immediately surrounding the stable and cottages; a 61-acre block of fields to the east, a 15-acre hay field along Esmont Road; and an 88-acre block of hay fields and pastures on the western portion of the farm. The wooded acreage at Nydrie is spread evenly throughout the property and consists primarily of hardwoods that are well-established, but in various stages of maturity. Riding and walking trails wind throughout the woods. There are two year-round water sources on the property: Totier Creek, which runs through the NE portion of the property, and a ¾ - acre spring fed pond located near the western boundary.
The topography on the farm varies gently between elevations of 500’ and 650’. High ground bookends the property to the North and South, giving the center of the farm a private and secluded feeling. On the Southern high ground there are several possible home sites with expansive views over the farm and out towards the Green and Blue Ridge Mountains in the distance.
The farm is not under conservation easement, although many of the surrounding properties are. Nydrie was previously approved for up to 37 development rights by Albemarle County, and as such the farm is a very strong easement candidate for a buyer looking to explore potentially significant tax benefits.
The main structure on the farm is the 20-stall, brick barn (c. 1898). Other improvements include two modest tenant cottages and an assortment of additional barns and farm structures.
In the 1890’s Harry Douglas Forsyth, a New Orleans sugar baron and financier, purchased what was then known as the Tom Coles Farm. After renaming the farm Nydrie he went about building a massive 50-room manor house that was supposedly modelled after a Scottish baronial castle located on Loch Nydrie. To accompany the house he built an equally impressive Victorian-style brick barn complex, which at the time of construction was considered one of the largest and most elaborate horse stables in Virginia.
The farm was later purchased by the Van Clief family in the 1920’s and incorporated into their assemble of surrounding farms. Although the Nydrie house was never again lived in (and eventually demolished), the stables remained active and began a very successful new chapter under the Van Cliefs. The stable became known as Nydrie Stud and would breed and train several famous 20th century racehorses, among them Jet Pilot, winner of the 1947 Kentucky Derby, and Natalma, the dam of Northern Dancer, winner of the 1964 Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes. The farm remained in the Van Clief family until 2008, by which point they had wound down the last of their racehorse interests and the property was sold to its current owner.
585± acres, an approximate breakdown of which is:
Open / Pasture - 200 acres
Wooded / Timber - 375 acres
Other (building sites, pond, etc) - 10 acres
Annual property taxes in 2019 were approximately $6,300.